Das Treffen Dreier Punkte

Outdoor photography exhibition


Curated by Hannah Goldstein, Katja Haustein

Artists: Courtney Asztalos, Lemia Monét Bodden, Nati Canto, Amanda Coimbra, Ayala GazitNg Hui Hsien, Charlie Jouvet, Susanne Kohler, Piotr Pietrus, Ana Catarina Pinho, Fabiana Sala, Henrik Strömberg, Grant Yarolin

In the photography exhibition # DAS TREFFEN DREIER PUNKTE (THE MEETING OF THREE POINTS) the images are plastered directly onto the walls of an underpass between Wedding and Pankow/Prenzlauer Berg.

The three Berlin districts of Wedding, Pankow, and Prenzlauer Berg converge in a border triangle in an overgrown green area. Known almost exclusively by locals and used as a throughway or for relaxation purposes, this place has all number of important stories to tell. The rail tracks running through it formed the border between East and West during the Cold War and lead to the Baltic coast.

At the end of WWII it was a site of heavy fighting between the Russians and the Allies. The area is part of the former death strip around the Berlin Wall, which today is a green belt through the city. The Bösebrücke by the Bornholmer Str. S-Bahn station was the first GDR border crossing to be opened on 9 November 1989. Today it is a place that is battling with gentrification because the adjoining allotments which have existed since 1896 are under threat of being torn down to make way for luxury apartments.

What does this place reflect in today’s world? What can the name Dreiländereck (triangle of three borders) symbolize? What can we learn from the historical importance of this place? The invited artists create each a photographic triptych that relates to the site where it is shown.


Festival | July 1–31, 2019

Berlin, Germany

INTERIORS TO BEING takes visitors and invited artists into an intimate encounter within the homes, gardens and streets of Berlin as well as the lives of strangers.

INTERIORS TO BEING spans time and space as a collective happening through the cityscape of Berlin. Six curators from Berlin have developed formats around the specifics of the work of a total of 51 artists and curators. The chosen formats range from traditional exhibitions, walks, salons and discussions to gatherings and performances.

The project unfolds over the course of the month of July in six chapters that flow into one another, occasionally overlapping. INTERIORS TO BEING expands radically outwards, realizing half of its projects in Berlin’s public space. The city of Berlin is a partner of INTERIORS TO BEING as any curator or participating artists in the program would be. The cityscape functions anthropomorphically–with the city’s growth and continual change impacting the way artists move within it. INTERIORS TO BEING internalizes these changes through the framework of its community. All contributors to INTERIORS TO BEING are part of the extensive creative network of PICTURE BERLIN (founded in 2009, a not-for-profit artist initiated hybrid residency/art academy), which is a community made up of more than two hundred international artists and curators, two-thirds of whom are based in Berlin.

The red thread running through all events is the dérive, a term devised by Situationist Guy Debord to describe an aimless wandering through different urban environments that leads to the development of a psycho-geographical awareness. This concept beautifully sums up the way INTERIORS TO BEING works as a project in the city of Berlin.

Artistic Director: Pauline Doutreluingne Managing Director: April Gertler Curators: Conny Becker, Pauline Doutreluingne, April Gertler, Kaetha (hannah goldstein and Katja Haustein), Teena Lange, Lotte Møller Contributing artists and curators: Uli Aigner, Courtney Asztalos, Bill Berger, Cynthia Bittenfield, Lemia Bodden, Lucile Bouvard, Marcus Brownlow, Andrew J. Burford, Nati Canto, Amanda Coimbra, Valentina Culley-Foster, Mark Curran, Jeremiah Day, Hannah Dougherty, Övül Durmusoglu, Catherine Evans, Fernanda Figueiredo, Elise Gardella, Ayala Gazit, Surya Gied, Rhys Himsworth, Brittney Hollinger, Kerstin Honeit, Ng Hui Hsien, Melanie Irwin, Stine Marie Jacobsen, Charlie Jouvet, Jesi Khadivi, Susanne Kohler, Teena Lange, Nancy McCormack, Lotte Møller, Bonaventure Ndikung, Hester Oerlemans, Solvej Helweg Ovesen, Heiko Pfreundt, Piotr Pietrus, Ana Catarina Pinho, Lucy Powell, Fabiana Sala, Adrian Schiesser, Joachim Schmid, Aleks Slota, Sydney Southam, Stevie Southard, Henrik Strömberg, Emma Wolf-Haugh, Ilyn Wong, Grant Yarolin, Ella Ziegler

0 visualização0 comentário

Posts recentes

Ver tudo
© 2010-2020 Ana Catarina Pinho. All rights reserved.